CRA Board of Commissioners

John P. “Jack” Seiler


Bruce G. Roberts
District 1


Dean J. Trantalis
Vice Mayor/District 2


Robert L. McKinzie
District 3


Romney Rogers
District 4

Mission of the City Commission

The mission of the Fort Lauderdale City Commission is to represent the public interest, promote quick, courteous response to residents’ problems, provide leadership and direction for the City’s future, and assure the present and future fiscal integrity of the municipal government.


The City of Fort Lauderdale has a Commission-Manager form of government. Under this form of government, the elected City Commission sets policies for the operation of the City. The City Commission consists of five members: the mayor and four district commission members. The administrative responsibility of the City rests with the City Manager, who is appointed by the City Commission.


The four commissioners are elected by individual districts; the mayor is elected at large. Each serves a three-year term.